ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition



The ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition course is designed to allow ITIL® Experts or ITIL® V3 candidates to easily transition across to ITIL® 4.

They can gain the designation of ITIL® 4 Managing Professional via one course and one exam (normally 5 courses and exams). The ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition course allows ITIL® 3 candidates to transition to ITIL® 4 while still acquiring the skills and knowledge needed to understand the core concepts of the updated guidance.




  • To provide the candidate with details of the following topics:

  • Foundation – basic concepts and architecture of ITIL® 4

  • Create Deliver and Support

  • Drive Stakeholder Value

  • High Velocity IT

  • Direct Plan and Improve


ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved



Candidates can expect to gain comprehension and awareness in the following five topics upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification:


1. ITIL® V4 Foundation

  • The key concepts of service management.

  • Service offering, service provision, service consumption and service relationship management.

  • How the ITIL® guiding principles can help an organisation adopt and adapt Service Management.

  • The four dimensions of Service Management.

  • The purpose and components of the ITIL® service value system.

  • The activities of the service value chain and how they interconnect.


2. ITIL® V4 Specialist: Create, Deliver and Support.

  • Understand how to plan and build a service value stream to create, deliver and support services.

  • Know how relevant ITIL® practices contribute to the creation, delivery and support across the SVS and Value streams.

  • Know how to create, deliver and support services.


3. ITIL® V4 Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value

  • Understand how customer journeys are designed.
  • Know how to foster stakeholder relationships.

  • Know how to shape demand and define service offerings.

  • Know how to onboard and offboard customers and users.

  • Know how to act together to ensure continual value co-creation (service consumption/ provisioning).

  • Know how to realise and validate service value.


4. ITIL® V4 Specialist: High Velocity IT

  • Understand concepts regarding the high velocity nature of the digital enterprise including the demand it places on IT.
  • Understand the digital product lifecycle in terms of the ITIL® ‘operating model’.

  • Understand the importance of the ITIL® Guiding Principles and other fundamental concepts for delivering high velocity IT.


5. ITIL® V4 Strategist: Direct Plan and Improve

  • Understand the scope of what is to be directed and/or planned
  • Know how to use key principles and methods of direction and planning in that context.

  • Understand the role of GRC and how to integrate the principles and methods into the service value system.

  • Understand and know how to use the key principles and methods of Organisational Change Management to directions, planning and improvements.


This is an instructor led classroom or virtual course that uses a combination of lectures, practical group discussions and exercises. Sample exams are provided to prepare students for the examination. The classroom-based course includes a 90-minute, formal examination. On-line exams will be available for virtual courses.

Intended Audience

This Transition course recognises the candidates existing achievements and allows them to gain the up to-date skills and knowledge needed to navigate the digital service economy. All individuals attending this course should have one of the pre-requisites listed.

This may include but is not limited to, IT professionals, business managers and business process owners.

The Examination

  • The purpose of the ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition examination is to assess whether the candidate can demonstrate enough understanding and application of ITIL® 4 as described in the syllabus, to be awarded the ITIL® 4 Managing Profession designate.

  • The exam takes the form of a closed book, multiple choice examination comprising 40 questions. The pass score is 70% (28 out of 40). Some students may be entitled to additional time – your instructor will give more details if required.



  • Candidates must either have be:

  • ITIL®V3/2011 candidates who have attained the ITIL® Expert Certificate.

  • ITIL®V3/2011 candidates who must have gained a minimum of 17 credits from the ITIL®V3/2011 Foundation and Intermediate /Practitioner modules.

Individuals who have attained the ITIL®V4 Foundation certificate which can be accepted to replace the ITIL®V3 Foundation Certificate, plus 15 credits from the Intermediate/ Practitioner modules



 ITIL® 4 Qualification Scheme






Screenshot 2020-08-23 at 13.26.46.png


©SCC 2020